2 great games expected in final 2 quarterfinal matches

Thursday, July 03, 2014
On Saturday in Brazil, the final two quarterfinal matches will take place.

At 11 a.m. CT/12 p.m. ET, the men in Carolina Blue will take on the guys who come from the land where waffles and dark chocolate are king. It's Argentina facing Belgium, the team that conquered the United States. Argentina is led by the great Lionel Messi, while the Belgians flag carrier is Kevin DeBruyne, who along with Romelu Lukaku, are a potent 1-2 punch. I think Belgium is going to beat Argentina because I think they are a better team.

Game 2 at 3 p.m. CT/4 p.m. ET on Saturday features the Netherlands facing Costa Rica. The men of Orange have been playing great and are the favorites. Costa Rica is another surprising team, the only Central American team left in the tournament. I think the Dutch have a great chance of making it to the finals to face Germany in a rematch of that great 1974 Cup battle I witnessed in Germany many, many, many moons ago. So the semifinal match in the bottom half of the tournament bracket will be Belgium and the Netherlands. The top half of the bracket will be Brazil against Germany, and I'm going with Germany all the way to the end. Deutschland Uber Alles.

World Cup Blog Archive

Since joining ABC7 in 1982, Jim Rose has become a major force in Chicago sports broadcasting. He currently serves as sports anchor/reporter for ABC7 News in Chicago's top-rated 4:00 and 6:00 p.m. newscasts. He is an avid fan of the World Cup! Learn more about Jim
Related Topics:
sports FIFA fifa world cup World Cup Jim Rose World Cup Daily Wrap

Load Comments