Twyman-Stokes finalists include Tim Duncan, Pau Gasol, Udonis Haslem

ESPN logo
Friday, April 3, 2015

MIAMI -- San Antonio's Tim Duncan, Chicago's Pau Gasol and Miami's Udonis Haslem are among 12 finalists for this year's Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award.

Other nominees include Charlotte's Al Jefferson, Denver's Jameer Nelson, Golden State's Andre Iguodala, Atlanta's Elton Brand, New Orleans' Ryan Anderson, Portland's Steve Blake, Detroit's Caron Butler, Memphis' Vince Carter and Cleveland's Mike Miller. The list was announced Thursday.

The NBA will make a $25,000 donation to the charity of the winner's choice. The winner is expected to be revealed next month, following player voting.

The award recognizes selfless play, leadership, work as a role model to other players and commitment. It is named for Jack Twyman and Maurice Stokes, both members of the Basketball Hall of Fame who were forever linked by what happened in the final game of the 1957-58 regular season, when Stokes suffered a brain injury.

Stokes was paralyzed, and Twyman supported him for the remainder of his life as his legal guardian and advocate.

Past winners include Chauncey Billups in 2013 and Shane Battier last year.