Lolo Jones to compete on 'Dancing'

Lolo Jones isn't afraid of new experiences, and the three-time Olympian is bringing her dancing shoes along for her latest ride.

Jones, NASCAR great Michael Waltrip and former mixed martial arts champion Randy Couture are among those who will compete on the new season of "Dancing With the Stars," ABC announced Thursday.

Jones, a track and field athlete specializing in hurdles, attracted criticism earlier this year when she was chosen as a brakewoman on the U.S. national bobsled team for the Sochi Olympics after only a few months of participation in bobsledding. She became one of a few athletes who have competed in both the Summer and Winter Games, as she ran track in the Beijing Olympics in 2008 and the London Olympics in 2012.

Among the 13 participants is "Fresh Prince of Bel Air" actor Alfonso Ribeiro, who already brings a certain dancing knowledge to the table.

"We will absolutely give the fans what they would love to see, which is the Carlton dance," Ribeiro said on "Good Morning America" about incorporating the dance moves he made famous on "Fresh Prince" into his routines. "I gotta give the audience a reason to keep me on."

Actress Lea Thompson, "Duck Dynasty" diva Sadie Robertson, talk-show host Tavis Smiley, "Pretty Little Liars" star Janel Parrish, actor Antonio Sabato Jr. and fashion designer Betsey Johnson will also compete for the mirror ball trophy.

Other amateur hoofers include comedy veteran Tommy Chong, YouTube star Bethany Mota and "Mean Girls" star Jonathan Bennett.

The 19th season of "Dancing" premieres Sept. 15. Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews return as co-hosts.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Related Video
Lolo Jones Set To Dance With The Stars
Lolo Jones Set To Dance With The Stars
Olympian Lolo Jones, NASCAR's Michael Waltrip and former mixed martial arts champion Randy Couture are among the competitors for this season of ABC's "Dancing With The Stars."
Related Topics:
sportsespnolympic sportsmichael waltriplolo jonesdancing with the starsespnw
(Copyright ©2018 ESPN Internet Ventures. All rights reserved.)