ABC7 Top Scholars Program Information

ABC7 Top Scholars is a scholarship and television opportunity recognizing the Bay Area's top high school academic achievers. ABC7 Top Scholars will award $1000 scholarships to seven local graduating high school seniors who are college-bound. These students will be profiled in stories featured in ABC7 Newscasts as well a special program, "ABC7 Top Scholars" (a half-hour special slated to air this summer). The annual project is intended to promote academic excellence by honoring and rewarding our top achievers.

Invitations to participate in the ABC7 Top Scholars program have been sent to hundreds of schools throughout the Bay Area. Each school will nominate up to four students to participate. Once nominated, each student must fill out the Student Application, due to ABC7 no later than 8:00PM on Wednesday, April 22, 2015. Applications will be reviewed by a panel of judges, comprised of ABC7 representatives and community members. Top Scholar semifinalists will be identified by May 6, 2015. At that time, semifinalists ONLY will be invited to the ABC7 offices in San Francisco for in-person interviews on Saturday, May 9, 2015. Only qualifying semifinalists will be contacted. Winners will be informed by May 12, 2015.

The profiles of our student winners will begin airing in Summer 2015, featured on ABC7 Newscasts, with a full half-hour program, ABC7 Top Scholars, airing later in the Summer 2015.

  • Student must be a high school senior graduating in Spring 2015 and committed to earning a college degree.

  • Minimum GPA of 3.5.

  • Student must be a San Francisco Bay Area resident, with photo ID (CA State ID, Driver's License, School ID, etc.).

  • Student must be available to be interviewed on camera.

  • KGO-TV must receive an official sealed school transcript by 8:00PM on Wednesday, April 22, 2015.

  • Student must fully complete application form, including all attachments listed on Page 3 of this application, due to KGO-TV by 8:00PM on Wednesday, April 22, 2015.

  • ALL application materials must be received in-hand at KGO-TV by the deadline, 8:00PM Wednesday, April 22, 2015 (Address: 900 Front Street, San Francisco, CA. Staff is on-site 24 hours a day to accept in-person deliveries.). Postmark-only by deadline will make the application invalid.

  • Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted.

  • Incomplete applications will not be eligible for the ABC7 Top Scholars program.

  • Applicant must be nominated by his or her school. Applications may be obtained only from school administration.

  • If you have additional questions, please contact Laura Kutch, Community Relations Manager, at (415) 954-7826.

    2014 ABC7 Top Scholars:
    Varsha Sathappan, Notre Dame High School in San Jose
    Jason Li, Saratoga High School
    Anika Kumar, San Rafael High School
    Emily Wang, Gunn High School
    Matthew Payne, Cardinal Newman High School
    Katherine Liu, Los Altos High School
    Yasamin Vafai, Northgate High School

    2013 ABC7 Top Scholars:
    Niharika Bedekar, Saratoga High School
    Tatiana Grossman, Henry M. Gunn High School
    Casey Leonard, Las Lomas High School
    Jerry Liu, Los Altos High School
    Michael Pham, Jesse M. Bethel High School
    Sarah Tsou, Archbishop Mitty High School
    Michael Yu, Piedmont High School

    2012 ABC7 Top Scholars
    Michael Chang, Saratoga High School
    Sierra Fan, Henry M. Gunn High School
    Nathan Galicia, Carlmont High School
    Romi Phadte, Santa Teresa High School
    Sruthi Ramaswami, Archbishop Mitty High School
    Denise Ramirez, Lick-Wilmerding High School
    Tatiana Suriano, Richmond High School

    2011 ABC7 Top Scholars:
    Emelyn Erickson, Las Lomas High School
    Kyle Gerner, The King's Academy
    Sarah Khasrovi, Presentation High School
    Amrit Saxena, Aragon High School
    Catherine Tadina, El Camino High School
    Chrystina Yu, Piedmont High School

    2010 ABC7 Top Scholars:
    Nicole Bauthier, Terra Linda High School
    Jonathan Drennan, Santa Teresa High School
    Carolyn Esserman, Miramonte High School
    Druthi Ghanta, Foothill High School
    Joe Pak, Carlmont High School
    Ana Plascencia, Archbishop Mitty High School

    2009 ABC7 Top Scholars:
    Jason Bade, Aragon High School
    Sejal Hathi, Notre Dame High School (San Jose)
    Julia Mason, Monte Vista High School
    Kathyrn Nomura, Silver Creek High School
    Sean Rayani, Analy High School
    Albert Wong, Homestead High School

    2008 ABC7 Top Scholars:
    Susann Almasi, Northgate High School
    Caroline Dougherty, Miramonte High School
    Jibran Khan, Monte Vista High School
    Jillian Liu, Palo Alto Senior High School
    Jasmine Nachtigall, Hillsdale High School
    Xijia Sun, San Mateo High School

    2007 ABC7 Top Scholars:
    Cristina Bautista, Moreau Catholic High School
    Daniel Ding, Saint Francis High School
    Cindy Guan, Mission San Jose High School
    Emily Larimer, Half Moon Bay High School
    Scott Levin, Los Altos High School
    Sivakami Sambasivam, Saratoga High School

    2006 ABC7 Top Scholars:
    Hannah Fitzpatrick, San Domenico Upper School
    Richard Kim, Foothill High School
    Abhishek Kumar, Archbishop Mitty High School
    Evgenia Shnayder, Carlmont High School
    Alice Wang, Saint Francis High School
    Elizabet Warshaw-Vickery, Palo Alto High School

    (Copyright 2014 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.)
    Related Topics:
    education education scholarship ABC7 Top Scholars students community
    (Copyright ©2015 KGO-TV/DT. All Rights Reserved.)

    Load Comments