Contra Costa DA race headed for runoff


As of 4 a.m. the Contra Costa County Elections Department had not published the final results.

With 102 of 104 precincts reporting, incumbent Contra Costa County Supervisor John Gioia appears to have been elected to a fourth term representing District 1.

Gioia beat out newcomer Mister Phillips with more than 78 percent of the vote, according to unofficial election results.

District 1 includes the cities of Richmond, El Cerrito and San Pablo and the unincorporated communities of East Richmond Heights, El Sobrante, Kensington, Montalvin Manor, North Richmond and Rollingwood.

With 115 of 116 precincts reporting, Pleasant Hill Mayor Karen Mitchoff appears to have been elected to the District 4 county supervisor seat, beating Michael McGill by more than 2,000 votes.

Mitchoff will replace current Supervisor Susan Bonilla, who is running for state Assembly. The District 4 supervisor represents Concord, Clayton, Pleasant Hill and part of Walnut Creek.

Incumbent County Assessor Gus Kramer appears to have beat out his three opponents by a wide margin, despite being the subject of an employment discrimination lawsuit that the county settled in 2009.

With 619 of 628 precincts reporting, Kramer appears to have received more than 55 percent of the vote, which enables him to avoid a runoff in November.

Deputy District Attorney Mark Peterson appears to be in the lead in the District Attorney's race, but since he didn't receive more than 50 percent of the vote, he will face off against Dan O'Malley in a runoff election in November.

With 619 of 628 precincts reporting, Peterson appears to have received 47.57 percent of the vote while O'Malley received 36.41 percent of the vote. The third candidate, Elle Falahat, only received 15.66 percent of the vote.

Concord Police Chief David Livingston appears to have been elected to be the next Contra Costa County Sheriff, beating his opponent Contra Costa County Sheriff's Lt. Brian Kalinowski. With 619 of 628 precincts reporting, Livingston received just over 56 percent of the vote while Kalinowski received just over 43.5 percent.

Copyright © 2023 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.