• BREAKING NEWS Track the rain with Live Doppler 7 HD radar

Colombia Loses 2-1 Against Brazil, Neymar Taken Off Field in Stretcher

(AP / Fernando Vergara)
Colombia loses to Brazil in the World Cup quarter-finals today, but not without a strong fight.

Brazil scored two goals in the first half, while Colombia fought hard to make a comeback, scoring a goal in the second half. In the history of World Cup, Colombia has never made a winning return after losing the first half, and the trend proved itself again today.

Brazil moves onto the semi-finals, fighting Germany on Tuesday, July 8th at 4:00 PM EST (1:00 PM PDT). Germany eliminated the U.S.A. team last week, and moves on after their 1-0 win against France.

The upcoming match may prove tough for Brazil seeing as how forward Neymar was injured during today's match, being take off the field in a stretcher. This back injury comes immediately following knee and thigh injuries Neymar received during the previous match against Chile. Judging from the apparent pain he was in, doctors currently believe Neymar will not be fit to play against Germany next week.

The loss of Neymar could prove to be a significant blow to the Brazil team, seeing as how he's the only Brazilian player to be involved in five or more goals (4 goals, 1 assist) in any World Cup match since 2002.

The other semi-final taking place is the Argentina vs Belgium match tomorrow, July 5th at 12:00 PM EST (9:00 AM PDT).

Download the WatchESPN app to watch the semi-finals live tomorrow, and on Tuesday.

Related Topics:
sports soccer sports fifa world cup
Load Comments