ABC7 NextGen Now - Celebrating Pride and LGBTQ+ community

SAN FRANCISCO (KGO) -- Hosted by ABC7's Reggie Aqui and informed by the ABC7 NextGen Advisory Council, ABC7 NextGen Now: Pride is a roundtable discussion that highlights four voices representing the next generation of queer and transgender leaders in the Bay Area.

Panelists share their thoughts about the importance of LGBTQ+ representation in the San Francisco Bay Area. ABC7 NextGen Now conversations explore various topics that continue to generate more discourse from our dinner tables to the courtroom.


Aria Sa'id
Aria is a transgender advocate and award-winning political strategist based in San Francisco. She is a co-founder and the Executive Director of the Compton's Transgender Cultural District, the first legally recognized transgender district in the world.

Sammie Ablaza Wills
Sammie is the director of API Equality - Northern California. They are a queer, non-binary, Pilipinx organizer passionate about supporting people in reclaiming their inherent power and dignity.

Michael Nguyen
Michael is the chair of the GLBTQ+ Asian Pacific Alliance (GAPA), formerly the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance. GAPA envisions a powerful Queer and Transgender Asian and Pacific Islander (QTAPI) community that is seen, heard, and celebrated.

Ya'qub Elmi

Ya'qub is a Black, queer, non-binary activist and a recent graduate from the University of San Francisco. They are the new KGO Race & Social Justice/Community Engagement intern and lead the ABC7 NextGen Advisory Council.

About the ABC7 NextGen Advisory Council:

The ABC7 NextGen Advisory Council is a dynamic group of diverse young leaders from across the Bay Area who partner with ABC7 to Build a Better Bay Area by identifying and amplifying the issues facing our communities.

The NextGen Council members share their unique perspectives on ABC7's coverage and provide insight on a broad range of stories and content.

Apply to be on the ABC7 NextGen Advisory Council here.

See more stories and videos related to LGBTQ+ Pride here.
Copyright © 2022 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.