About ABC7 Star Scholars


ABC7 Star Scholars (formerly ABC7 Top Scholars) is a scholarship and television opportunity recognizing the Bay Area's top high school academic achievers. ABC7 Star Scholars will award $1000 scholarships to seven local graduating high school seniors who are college-bound. These students will be profiled in stories featured in ABC7 Newscasts as well a special program, "ABC7 Star Scholars" (a half-hour special slated to air this summer). The annual project is intended to promote academic excellence by honoring and rewarding our top achievers.

Invitations to participate in the ABC7 Star Scholars program have been sent to hundreds of schools throughout the Bay Area. Each school will nominate up to four students to participate. Once nominated, each student must fill out the Student Application, due to ABC7 no later than 8:00PM on Tuesday, April 25, 2017. Applications will be reviewed by a panel of judges, comprised of ABC7 representatives and community members. Star Scholar semifinalists will be identified by May 4, 2017. At that time, semifinalists ONLY will be invited to the ABC7 offices in San Francisco for in-person interviews on Saturday, May 6, 2017. Only qualifying semifinalists will be contacted. Winners will be informed by May 10, 2017.

The profiles of our student winners will begin airing in Summer 2017, featured on ABC7 Newscasts, with a full half-hour program, ABC7 Star Scholars, airing later in the Summer 2017.


  • Student must be a high school senior graduating in Spring 2017 and committed to earning a college degree.
  • Minimum GPA of 3.5.
  • Student must be a San Francisco Bay Area resident, with photo ID (CA State ID, Driver's License, School ID, etc.).
  • Student must be available to be interviewed on camera.
  • KGO-TV must receive an official sealed school transcript by 8:00PM on Tuesday, April 25, 2017.
  • Student must fully complete application form, including all attachments listed on Page 3 of this application, due to KGO-TV by 8:00PM on Tuesday, April 25, 2017.
  • ALL application materials must be received in-hand at KGO-TV by the deadline, 8:00PM Tuesday, April 25, 2017 (Address: 900 Front Street, San Francisco, CA. Staff is on-site 24 hours a day to accept in-person deliveries.). Postmark-only by deadline will make the application invalid.

  • Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted.
  • Incomplete applications will not be eligible for the ABC7 Star Scholars program.
  • Applicant must be nominated by his or her school. Applications may be obtained only from school administration.

If you have additional questions, please contact Laura Kutch, Community Relations Manager, at (415) 954-7826.

2016 ABC7 Star Scholars

Swetha Revanur, Evergreen Valley High School in San Jose
Vibhu Singhal, Irvington High School in Fremont
Anthony Beron, McClymonds High School in West Oakland
Stuti Vishwabhan, Presentation High School in San Jose
Giovy Webb, Carondelet High School in Concord
Julia Leal, Live Oak High School in Morgan Hill
Sarah Schisla, Carlmont High School in Belmont


2015 ABC7 Star Scholars
Armando Banuelos, Bellarmine College Prep in San Jose
Kelsey Ichikawa, Irvington High School in Fremont
John Oberholzer, Merritt College in Oakland
Riley Quinn, Saint Francis High School in Mountain View
Joy Jin, Henry M. Gunn High School in Palo Alto
Tanay Tandon, Cupertino High School
Daniel Rosenthal, Carrillo High School Pumas in Santa Rosa

2014 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Varsha Sathappan, Notre Dame High School in San Jose
Jason Li, Saratoga High School
Anika Kumar, San Rafael High School
Emily Wang, Gunn High School
Matthew Payne, Cardinal Newman High School
Katherine Liu, Los Altos High School
Yasamin Vafai, Northgate High School

2013 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Niharika Bedekar, Saratoga High School
Tatiana Grossman, Henry M. Gunn High School
Casey Leonard, Las Lomas High School
Jerry Liu, Los Altos High School
Michael Pham, Jesse M. Bethel High School
Sarah Tsou, Archbishop Mitty High School
Michael Yu, Piedmont High School

2012 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Michael Chang, Saratoga High School
Sierra Fan, Henry M. Gunn High School
Nathan Galicia, Carlmont High School
Romi Phadte, Santa Teresa High School
Sruthi Ramaswami, Archbishop Mitty High School
Denise Ramirez, Lick-Wilmerding High School
Tatiana Suriano, Richmond High School

2011 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Emelyn Erickson, Las Lomas High School
Kyle Gerner, The King's Academy
Sarah Khasrovi, Presentation High School
Amrit Saxena, Aragon High School
Catherine Tadina, El Camino High School
Chrystina Yu, Piedmont High School

2010 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Nicole Bauthier, Terra Linda High School
Jonathan Drennan, Santa Teresa High School
Carolyn Esserman, Miramonte High School
Druthi Ghanta, Foothill High School
Joe Pak, Carlmont High School

Ana Plascencia, Archbishop Mitty High School

2009 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Jason Bade, Aragon High School
Sejal Hathi, Notre Dame High School (San Jose)
Julia Mason, Monte Vista High School
Kathyrn Nomura, Silver Creek High School
Sean Rayani, Analy High School
Albert Wong, Homestead High School

2008 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Susann Almasi, Northgate High School
Caroline Dougherty, Miramonte High School
Jibran Khan, Monte Vista High School
Jillian Liu, Palo Alto Senior High School
Jasmine Nachtigall, Hillsdale High School
Xijia Sun, San Mateo High School

2007 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Cristina Bautista, Moreau Catholic High School
Daniel Ding, Saint Francis High School
Cindy Guan, Mission San Jose High School
Emily Larimer, Half Moon Bay High School
Scott Levin, Los Altos High School
Sivakami Sambasivam, Saratoga High School

2006 ABC7 Top Scholars:
Hannah Fitzpatrick, San Domenico Upper School
Richard Kim, Foothill High School
Abhishek Kumar, Archbishop Mitty High School
Evgenia Shnayder, Carlmont High School
Alice Wang, Saint Francis High School
Elizabet Warshaw-Vickery, Palo Alto High School

(Copyright 2014 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.)
Related Topics:
educationscholarshipABC7 Star ScholarsstudentscommunityKGO community pagehigh schoolbay areawhere you live
(Copyright ©2017 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.)

Load Comments