State furlough closures

February 5, 2009 10:54:25 PM PST
Many California government offices are scheduled to close Friday under Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger's order requiring most employees to take two unpaid days off a month. Most agencies are planning to close the first and third Fridays of each month.

Administration officials could not provide a list of affected offices. This is a partial list of state offices and how they are affected by Friday's order, compiled by The Associated Press.

What's Closed:

  • About 180 Department of Motor Vehicles offices.
  • Disability insurance and public tax offices operated by the Employment Development Department.
  • Office of Emergency Services.
  • Departments of Health Care Services and Public Health.
  • Division of Workers' Compensation.
  • California Energy Commission.
  • Department of Resources.
  • Department of Agriculture.
  • Department of Fish and Game.
  • Veterans Affairs.
  • Transportation Department headquarters and 12 district offices.
  • State fire administrative offices.
  • California Environmental Protection Agency.

    What's Open:

  • State parks, museums and historic sites
  • State Capitol
  • Courts
  • Legislature
  • Call centers that process unemployment insurance claims
  • About 250 employment centers operated by Employment Development Department
  • State fire stations, air bases and inmate conservation camps
  • Department of Justice/attorney general's office
  • Department of Education/superintendent of public instruction
  • California Public Utilities Commission
  • Governor's office
  • State treasurer
  • State controller
  • Secretary of state
  • Insurance commissioner
  • Lieutenant governor
  • Board of Equalization
  • Transportation Department emergency maintenance