Draymond Green should have been called for foul, lane violation, league says

OAKLAND, Calif. -- The NBA's "Last Two Minute Report" for Game 1 of the Finals on Thursday revealed two infractions that should have been called on Golden State'sDraymond Green in the waning seconds of regulation ahead of the Warriors' 124-114 overtime win.

The league said Green committed a lane violation by entering into the paint to establish rebounding position prior to George Hill releasing the second of two free throw attempts with 4.7 seconds remaining.

Hill missed the shot, leading to a wild sequence in whichJR Smith grabbed the offensive rebound and dribbled out past the 3-point line with the score tied 107-107 rather than looking to score before the clock expired.

Had the lane violation been called, Hill would have been awarded another attempt to make the free throw.

The league also said Green should have been called for a foul with 12.1 seconds to go for grabbingLeBron James' arm and affecting his freedom of movement. That contact preceded James' pass to Hill that led to Klay Thompson fouling the Cavs point guard and putting him on the line.

The Cavs were in the bonus at the time, meaning if the foul on Green was called, James -- and not Hill -- would have been the one attempting two free throws with the Cavs down 107-106.

James shot 10-for-11 from the free throw line in the defeat.

The L2M also offered an explanation as to why the charge call on Kevin Durant with 36.4 seconds remaining was overturned and ended up as a blocking foul on James.

"The crew was not reasonably certain whether James was in the restricted area after an offensive foul was called against Durant," the report said. "Upon replay review, it was confirmed that James was outside the restricted area. The referees also reviewed whether James was in a legal guarding position, which is an additional reviewable matter for this replay trigger. Replay showed James was not in a legal guarding position because he was turning his body and moving into Durant when contact occurred. Thus the initial call on the floor was overturned and James was assessed a blocking foul."

Related Video
JR, Cavs blow chance at win in regulation
JR, Cavs blow chance at win in regulation
George Hill misses a free throw with the game tied, and JR Smith's blunder sends the game to overtime.
Copyright © 2019 ESPN Internet Ventures. All rights reserved.