Dwight Howard picks up 7th technical foul of postseason

OAKLAND, Calif. -- Rockets center Dwight Howard picked up his seventh technical of the postseason in Game 5 of the Western Conference finals Wednesday night and would have been suspended for Game 6 on Friday in Houston had it been necessary.

The Golden State Warriors eliminated the Rockets with a 104-90 win Wednesday night.

Howard and the Warriors' Andrew Bogut were given technical fouls for pushing each other with 3:20 to play in the second quarter.

Had Game 6 been necessary, the Rockets likely would have asked the league to rescind the technical to allow him to play in that game.

Howard also was called for a foul after extending his arm while setting a hard screen on Andre Iguodala in the final minutes that drew a replay review.

He led Houston with 18 points and 16 rebounds.

Howard avoided a suspension after he was charged with a flagrant foul 1 for hitting Bogut in the face in Game 4. The league ruled Howard's hit on Bogut was unintentional.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.

Copyright © 2020 ESPN Internet Ventures. All rights reserved.