In California, it's against the law to text and drive. Some legislators are trying to do the same thing with texting and walking.
A New Jersey legislator is the latest to propose a bill that would fine "texter-walkers" $50 and for repeat offenders, 15 days in jail.
She says people distracted by their smartphones and crossing the road are as much a danger to motorists as jaywalkers and should be held to the same penalty.
A 2010 report showed two million injuries to "texter-walkers."
Several states have tried and failed to enact the same laws. Hawaii wants to impose a $250 fine.