About ABC7 Star Scholars

KGO logo
Friday, March 30, 2018
ABC7 Star Scholars
ABC7 Star Scholars (formerly ABC7 Top Scholars) is a scholarship and television opportunity recognizing the Bay Area's top high school academic achievers. Here's a look at the full ABC7 special honoring these seven students.

(KGO) -- ABC7 Star Scholars is under renovation this year! Unfortunately, we will not be holding the annual scholarship competition for the school year of 2017-2018, as we evolve the project for the future. We greatly appreciate your interest and apologize for any inconvenience.

In the meantime, ABC7 is considering setting up a Teen Youth Council, made up of teenagers from across the Bay Area, to work with us all yearlong. We are in the planning stages for this effort, and if you are interested, we welcome you to email us to share your thoughts and/or interest in possibly participating. Send your emails to KGO-TV.Community@abc.com.

ABC7 Star Scholars (formerly ABC7 Top Scholars) is a scholarship and television opportunity recognizing the Bay Area's top high school academic achievers. ABC7 Star Scholars awards $1000 scholarships to seven local graduating high school seniors who are college-bound. These students are profiled in stories featured in ABC7 Newscasts as well as the special half-hour program, "ABC7 Star Scholars." The annual project is intended to promote academic excellence by honoring and rewarding our top achievers.

The profiles of each of the seven student winners aired from July 13 through July 21, featured on ABC7 newscasts, with a full half-hour program, ABC7 Star Scholars, which aired July 23.

2017 ABC7 Star Scholars

James Coleman, South San Francisco High School

Kimberly Juarez-Rico, Analy High School in Sebastopol

Dylan Brown, Bishop O'Dowd High School in Oakland

Mallika Jain, San Jose High School

De'Sean Neabeack-Brantley, McClymonds High School in Oakland

Daviana Berkowitz-Sklar, Saratoga High School

Jeremy Murphy-Ortega, St. Patrick-St. Vincent High School in Vallejo

ABC7 Star Scholars (formerly ABC7 Top Scholars) is a scholarship and television opportunity recognizing the Bay Area's top high school academic achievers. Here's a look at the 2017 winners.

2016 ABC7 Star Scholars

Swetha Revanur, Evergreen Valley High School in San Jose

Vibhu Singhal, Irvington High School in Fremont

Anthony Beron, McClymonds High School in West Oakland

Stuti Vishwabhan, Presentation High School in San Jose

Giovy Webb, Carondelet High School in Concord

Julia Leal, Live Oak High School in Morgan Hill

Sarah Schisla, Carlmont High School in Belmont

2015 ABC7 Star Scholars

Armando Banuelos, Bellarmine College Prep in San Jose

Kelsey Ichikawa, Irvington High School in Fremont

John Oberholzer, Merritt College in Oakland

Riley Quinn, Saint Francis High School in Mountain View

Joy Jin, Henry M. Gunn High School in Palo Alto

Tanay Tandon, Cupertino High School

Daniel Rosenthal, Carrillo High School Pumas in Santa Rosa

2014 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Varsha Sathappan, Notre Dame High School in San Jose

Jason Li, Saratoga High School

Anika Kumar, San Rafael High School

Emily Wang, Gunn High School

Matthew Payne, Cardinal Newman High School

Katherine Liu, Los Altos High School

Yasamin Vafai, Northgate High School

2013 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Niharika Bedekar, Saratoga High School

Tatiana Grossman, Henry M. Gunn High School

Casey Leonard, Las Lomas High School

Jerry Liu, Los Altos High School

Michael Pham, Jesse M. Bethel High School

Sarah Tsou, Archbishop Mitty High School

Michael Yu, Piedmont High School

2012 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Michael Chang, Saratoga High School

Sierra Fan, Henry M. Gunn High School

Nathan Galicia, Carlmont High School

Romi Phadte, Santa Teresa High School

Sruthi Ramaswami, Archbishop Mitty High School

Denise Ramirez, Lick-Wilmerding High School

Tatiana Suriano, Richmond High School

2011 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Emelyn Erickson, Las Lomas High School

Kyle Gerner, The King's Academy

Sarah Khasrovi, Presentation High School

Amrit Saxena, Aragon High School

Catherine Tadina, El Camino High School

Chrystina Yu, Piedmont High School

2010 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Nicole Bauthier, Terra Linda High School

Jonathan Drennan, Santa Teresa High School

Carolyn Esserman, Miramonte High School

Druthi Ghanta, Foothill High School

Joe Pak, Carlmont High School

Ana Plascencia, Archbishop Mitty High School

2009 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Jason Bade, Aragon High School

Sejal Hathi, Notre Dame High School (San Jose)

Julia Mason, Monte Vista High School

Kathyrn Nomura, Silver Creek High School

Sean Rayani, Analy High School

Albert Wong, Homestead High School

2008 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Susann Almasi, Northgate High School

Caroline Dougherty, Miramonte High School

Jibran Khan, Monte Vista High School

Jillian Liu, Palo Alto Senior High School

Jasmine Nachtigall, Hillsdale High School

Xijia Sun, San Mateo High School

2007 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Cristina Bautista, Moreau Catholic High School

Daniel Ding, Saint Francis High School

Cindy Guan, Mission San Jose High School

Emily Larimer, Half Moon Bay High School

Scott Levin, Los Altos High School

Sivakami Sambasivam, Saratoga High School

2006 ABC7 Top Scholars:

Hannah Fitzpatrick, San Domenico Upper School

Richard Kim, Foothill High School

Abhishek Kumar, Archbishop Mitty High School

Evgenia Shnayder, Carlmont High School

Alice Wang, Saint Francis High School

Elizabet Warshaw-Vickery, Palo Alto High School