Incumbents dominate in Alameda County


Bates, who defeated former Mayor Shirley Dean with 55 percent of the vote in 2002, did even better this time, beating Dean by a margin of 61.5 percent to 35.5 percent. Write-in candidates received the other 3 percent of the vote.

Click here for the latest local, state and national results

Three incumbents were re-elected to the Berkeley City Council.

District Three Councilman Max Anderson, who only was opposed by write-in candidates, got 96 percent of the vote.

District Two Councilman Darryl Moore, who is completing his first term on the council and also is a management analyst for the Oakland Housing Authority, defeated property manager Jon Crowder by a margin of 82 percent to 17 percent.

In District Five, Councilman Laurie Capitelli, who also is finishing his first term and is a partner at Red Oak Realty, defeated retired attorney Sophie Hahn by a margin of 53 percent to 47 percent.

However, there will be two new faces on the council, as long-time Councilwoman Bette Olds is retiring from her District Six post and District Four Councilwoman Donna Spring died in July after suffering from rheumatoid arthritis for many years. Spring's seat has been vacant since then.

Susan Wengraf, who has served as an aide to Olds since 1992 and has also served on the Berkeley Planning Commission, will succeed her boss because she beat Phoebe Sorgen, a voice teacher who has served on the city's Peace and Justice Commission, by a margin of 77 percent to 23 percent.

Jesse Arreguin, who's an aide to Councilman Kriss Worthington, will fill the District Four seat because he got about 49.5 percent of the vote to come out on top in a five-person contest.

In Fremont, Wasserman got 42.7 percent of the votes to defeat three other candidates, including former Mayor Gus Morrison, who finished third.

In a 10-person contest for two positions on the Fremont City Council, incumbent Bob Wieckowski was re-elected with 27.7 percent of the vote. Planning Commissioner Suzanne Chan, who also was elected, finished second with 20.9 percent of the vote.

In Alameda, incumbent City Council members Doug deHaan and Marie Gilmore defeated two challengers, getting 31 percent and 29 percent of the vote, respectively.

In Albany, incumbents Farid Javandel and Robert Lieber were re-elected with about 17.6 percent and 16.8 percent of the vote, respectively.

But teacher Peggy Thomsen also was elected, as she finished first in the six-candidate field with 20.4 percent.

In Dublin, City Councilman Tim Sbranti received 84.5 percent of the vote to be elected the city's new mayor.

In a five-person race for two positions on the Dublin City Council, incumbent Kasie Hildenbrand finished first with 35.8 percent of the vote and will be joined in office by Alameda County Sheriff's Capt. Kevin Hart, who finished second with 34.5 percent.

In Pleasanton, Mayor Jennifer Hosterman won re-election by defeating challenger Steve Brozosky, a former vice mayor and city council member, by a margin of 54.2 percent to 45.5 percent.

Incumbents Cindy McGovern and Matt Sullivan were re-elected to the City Council by getting 35 percent and 31 percent of the vote respectively in a four-person race.

In San Leandro, educator Ursula Reed defeated public policy consultant Linda Perry by a margin of 56 percent to 43 percent to win a seat on the City Council.

In Oakland, Alameda Contra Costa Transit District Director Rebecca Kaplan was elected to the at-large seat on the City Council, defeating school board member Kerry Hamill by a margin of 62 percent to 37 percent.

Copyright © 2024 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.