Gerhart wins the Doak Walker Award

Gerhart and the best players in the country all came together at the Annual College Football Awards Show.

Gerhart won the Doak Walker Award, named for the SMU legend.

Gerhart led the nation in rushing with more than 1,700 yards and 26 touchdowns. He beat out Alabama's Mark Ingram for the Walker Award, which makes you think he'd also be ahead in Heisman votes, but we'll see who wins it.

"Coming in freshman year, we were 1-11. Football was not fun. It crossed people's minds just to quit. And Coach Harbaugh's come in and done great things. So a lot of credit to the Stanford football players, it's turned completely around," said Gerhart.

Copyright © 2024 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.