Coast Guard warns of boating hazards at Mavericks


With waves between 15 and 20 feet high, changing surf conditions coupled with strong currents and shallow reef in the area create a dangerous situation for both spectators aboard boats and rescue teams, according to the Coast Guard.

Coast Guard officials will not establish a safe zone due to the impossible task of reliably predetermining safe waters during the competition. Crews will be conducting safety patrols and will be prepared to respond to any emergencies that arise.

Spectators who plan to view the competition from the water are reminded to exercise caution and remain aware of changing conditions on the water.

Before arriving at the competition, boaters should ensure that their vessel is appropriately designed, constructed and outfitted with the proper safety equipment for operation in an offshore environment.

Capt. Cynthia Stowe, commander of Coast Guard Sector San Francisco, said in a statement that she hopes spectators will choose to remain onshore due to the massive waves expected at the event.

"Those attempting to watch the event from the water do so at significant risk to themselves and rescue personnel," Stowe said.

For more information on safe boating practices and recommended safety equipment, spectators may visit

The contest will be streamed online for those who cannot attend the festival.

The last Mavericks contest was held on Feb. 12, 2010.


  • Matt Ambrose
  • RyanAugenstein
  • Grant "Twiggy" Baker
  • Chris Bertish
  • Carlos Burle
  • Ken "Skindog" Collins
  • Shane Desmond
  • Shawn Dollar
  • Shane Dorian
  • Nathan Fletcher
  • Mark Healey
  • Rusty Long
  • Greg Long
  • Alex Martins
  • Peter Mel
  • Ryan Seelbach
  • Kelly Slater
  • Tyler Smith
  • Jamie Sterling
  • Anthony Tashnick
  • Grant Washburn
  • Dave Wassel
  • Ben Wilkinson
  • Zach Wormhoudt

1. Tyler Fox (Santa Cruz)
2. Josh Loya (Santa Cruz)
3. Colin Dwyer (Pacifica)
4. Nic Lamb (Santa Cruz)
5. Danilo Couto (Brazil)
6. Derek Dunfee (San Diego)
7. Ben Andrews (San Francisco)
8. Andrew Marr (South Africa)
9. Travis Payne (Pacifica)
10. Ion Banner (Half Moon Bay)
11. Kohl Christensen (Hawaii)
12. Shawn Rhodes (Pacifica)
13. Mike Gerhardt (Santa Cruz)
14. Garret McNamara (Hawaii)
15. Russel Smith (Santa Cruz)
16. Jamie Mitchel (Australia)
17. Frank Solomon (South Africa)

Copyright © 2024 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.