2013 Oscar winners and nominees list

Winners for each category will be indicated in bold on Oscars night.

Best Picture
*** WINNER: "Argo" ***
"Beasts of the Southern Wild"
"Silver Linings Playbook"
"Zero Dark Thirty"
"Les Miserables"
"Life of Pi"
"Django Unchained"

Actor in a Supporting Role
*** WINNER: Christoph Waltz - "Django Unchained" ***
Philip Seymour Hoffman - "The Master"
Robert De Niro - Silver Linings Playbook"
Alan Arkin - "Argo"
Tommy Lee Jones - "Lincoln"

Actress in a Supporting Role
*** WINNER: Anne Hathaway - "Les Miserables" ***
Sally Field - "Lincoln"
Jacki Weaver - "Silver Linings Playbook"
Helen Hunt - "The Sessions"
Amy Adams - "The Master"

Short Film (Animated)
*** WINNER: "Paperman" - John Kahrs ***
"Adam and Dog" - Minkyu Lee
Fresh Guacamole" - PES
"Head Over Heels" - Timothy Reckart and Fodhla Cronin O'Reilly
"Maggie Simpson in 'The Longest Daycare'" - David Silverman

Animated Feature Film
*** WINNER: "Brave" - Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman ***
"FrankenWeenie" - Tim Burton
"Paranorman" - Sam Fell and Chris Butler
"The Pirates! Band of Misfits" - Peter Lord
"Wreck-it Ralph" - Rich Moore

*** WINNER: "Life of Pi" - Claudio Miranda ***
"Anna Karenina" - Seamus McGarvey
"Django Unchained" - Robert Richardson
"Lincoln" - Janusz Kaminski
"Skyfall" - Roger Deakins

Short Film (Live Action)
*** WINNER: "Curfew" - Shawn Christensen ***
"Asad" - Bryan Buckley and Mino Jarjoura
"Buzkashi Boys" - Sam French and Ariel Nasr
"Death of a Shadow (Dood van een Schaduw) - Tom van Avermaet and Ellen De Waele
"Henry" - Yan England

Documentary (Short Subject)
*** WINNER: "Inocente" - Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine ***
"Kings Point" - Sari Gilman and Jedd Wider
"Mondays at Racine" - Cynthia Wade and Robin Honan
"Open Heart" - Kief Davidson and Cori Shepherd Stern
"Redemption" - Jon Alpert and Matthew O'Neill

Documentary (Feature)
*** WINNER: "Searching For Sugar Man" - Malik Bendjelloul and Simon Chinn *** "5 Broken Cameras" - Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi
"The Gatekeepers" - Dror Moreh, Philippa Kowarsky and Estelle Fialon
"How To Survive A Plague" - David France and Howard Gertler
"The Invisible War" - Kirby Dick and Amy Ziering

Foreign Language Film
*** WINNER: "Amour" (Austria) ***
"Kon-tiki" (Norway)
"No" (Chile)
"A Royal Affair" (Denmark)
"War Witch" (Canada)

Visual Effects
*** WINNER: "Life of Pi" - Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott ***
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" - Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and R. Christopher White
"The Avengers" - Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams and Dan Sudick
"Prometheus" - Richard Stammers, Trevor Wood, Charley Henley and Martin Hill
"Snow White and the Huntsman" - Cedric Nicolas-Troyan, Philip Brennan, Neil Corbould and Michael Dawson

Costume Design
*** WINNER: "Anna Karenina" - Jacqueline Durran ***
"Les Miserables" - Paco Delgado
"Lincoln" - Joanna Johnston
"Mirror Mirror" - Eiko Oshioka
"Snow White and the Huntsman" - Colleen Atwood

*** WINNER: "Les Miserables" - Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell *** "Hitchcock" - Howard Berger, Peter Montagna and Martin Samuel
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" - Peter Swords King, Rick Findlater and Tami Lane

Sound Mixing:
*** WINNER: "Les Miserables" - Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson and Simon Hayes ***
"Skyfall" - Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell and Stuart Wilson "Argo" - John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Jose Antonio Garcia
"Life of Pi" - Ron Bartlett, D.M. Hemphill and Drew Kunin
"Lincoln" - Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Ronald Judkins

Sound Editing:
*** WINNER: "Zero Dark Thirty" - Paul N.J. Ottosson *** "Argo" - Erik Aadahl and Ethan van der Ryn
*** WINNER: "Skyfall" - Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers ***
"Django Unchained" - Wylie Stateman
"Life of Pi" - Eugene Gearty and Philip Stockton

Film Editing
*** WINNER: "Argo" - William Goldenberg ***
"Life of Pi" - Tim Squyres
"Lincoln" - Michael Kahn
"Silver Linings Playbook" - Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers
"Zero Dark Thirty" - Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg

Production design
*** WINNER: "Lincoln" - Production Design: Rick Carter, Set Decoration: Jim Erickson ***
"Anna Karenina" - Production Design: Sarah Greenwood, Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
"The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey" - Production Design: Dan Hennah, Set Decoration: Ra Vincent and Simon Bright
"Les Miserables" - Production Design: Eve Stewart, Set Decoration: Anna Lynch-Robinson
"Life of Pi" - Production Design: David Gropman, Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock

Music (Original Score)
*** WINNER: "Life of Pi" - Mychael Danna ***
"Anna Karenina" - Dario Marianelli
"Argo" - Alexandre Desplat
"Lincoln" - John Williams
"Skyfall" - Thomas Newman

Music (Original Song)
*** WINNER: "Skyfall" from "Skyfall" - music and lyric by Adele Adkins and Paul Epworth ***
"Before My Time" from "Chasing Ice" - music and lyric by J. Ralph
"Everybody Needs A Best Friend" from "Ted" - music by Walter Murphy, lyric by Seth MacFarlane
"Pi's Lullaby" from "Life of Pi" - music by Mychael Danna, lyric by Bombay Jayashri
"Suddenly" - "Les Miserables" - music by Claude-Michel Schonbergm, lyric by Herbert Kretzmer and Alain Boublil

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
*** WINNER: "Argo" - screenplay by Chris Terrio ***
"Beasts of the Southern Wild" - screenplay by Lucy Alibar and Benh Zeitlin
"Life of Pi" - screenplay by David Magee
"Lincoln" - screenplay by Tony Kushner
"Silver Linings Playbook" - screenplay by David o. Russell

Writing (Original Screenplay)
*** WINNER: "Django Unchained" - written by Quentin Tarantino ***
"Amour" - written by Michael Haneke
"Flight" - written by John Gatins
"Moonrise Kingdom" - written by Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola
"Zero Dark Thirty" - written by Mark Boal

*** WINNER: Ang Lee - "Life of Pi" ***
David O. Russell - "Silver Linings Playbook"
Steven Spielberg - "Lincoln"
Michael Haneke - "Amour"
Benh Zeitlin - "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Actor in a Leading Role
*** WINNER: Daniel Day-Lewis - "Lincoln" ***
Denzel Washington - "Flight"
Hugh Jackman - "Les Miserables"
Bradley Cooper - "Silver Linings Playbook"
Joaquin Phoenix - "The Master"

Actress in a Leading Role
*** WINNER: Jennifer Lawrence - "Silver Linings Playbook" ***
Naomi Watts - "The Impossible"
Jessica Chastain - "Zero Dark Thirty"
Emmanuelle Riva - "Amour"
Quvenzhane Wallis - "Beasts of the Southern Wild"

Copyright © 2024 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.