Sacramento makes Obama administration's 'Promise Zones'

AP logo
Tuesday, April 28, 2015

WASHINGTON -- The Obama administration is out with its second round of "Promise Zones," singling out eight economically struggling communities for special attention from the government.

The six cities, one rural area and one tribal community are:

-Camden, New Jersey

-Hartford, Connecticut



-Sacramento, California

-St. Louis and St. Louis County, Missouri

-Pine Ridge Indian Reservation of the Oglala Sioux Tribe, South Dakota

-South Carolina Low Country.

President Barack Obama launched the first five Promise Zones last year. Seven are still to be named, for a total of 20.

Promise Zones are high-poverty areas where the federal government and local leaders work together to increase economic activity and educational opportunities, attract private investment, reduce violent crime, improve public health and address any other priorities the communities identify.