Here's what will close under the Bay Area stay-at-home order

ByAlix Martichoux and Kris Reyes KGO logo
Friday, December 4, 2020
Here's what will close under a Bay Area stay-at-home order
A regional stay at home order was announced for California if ICU capacity drops below 15%. In the Bay Area, salons, restaurants and more would have to close in Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano and Sonoma.

SAN FRANCISCO (KGO) -- Gov. Gavin Newsom announced new stay-at-home restrictions are on the way as the coronavirus spreads out of control in California, threatening to overload hospital and intensive care capacity.

The state orders the new stay-at-home restrictions to go into effect when a region's ICU capacity drops below 15%, but five Bay Area counties have decided to move ahead of that plan and start new restrictions as early as Sunday.

BAY AREA LATEST: 5 Bay Area counties enacting stay-at-home order starting Sunday, not waiting for state's timeline

When a stay-at-home order begins, here's what needs to change:

  • Restaurants would close to both indoor and outdoor dining. They could only do takeout or delivery.
  • Bars and wineries have to close (indoor and outdoor)
  • Hair salons, barbershops, nail salons and other personal care services have to close
  • All retail stores can stay open, but must drop capacity to 20%
  • Private gatherings of any size will be prohibited

Schools that have already received a waiver to reopen can stay open. All "critical infrastructure" can remain open, as well.

The new restrictions will be in place for at least three weeks, then reassessed weekly based on ICU capacity.

NEWSOM LATEST: Gov. Newsom announces new, regional stay-at-home order in California

Additionally, all non-essential travel is "temporarily restricted statewide," effective immediately and regardless of whether your county is under a stay-at-home order. Hotels and motels are now restricted to only guests traveling for an "essential" reason.

The five Bay Area counties starting restrictions as soon as Sunday are: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco and Santa Clara counties. The other counties in the Bay Area region that are waiting for the time being are Monterey, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, Solano and Sonoma counties. Those counties won't have new restrictions until the region has reached the threshold of 15% remaining ICU beds.

Here's how the state is broken down into five regions:

  • Northern California, ICU capacity at 18.6%: Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity
  • Bay Area, ICU capacity at 25.4%: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Monterey, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma
  • Greater Sacramento, ICU capacity at 22%: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba
  • San Joaquin Valley, ICU capacity at 19.7%: Calaveras, Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, San Benito, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare, Tuolumne
  • Southern California, ICU capacity at 20.6%: Imperial, Inyo, Los Angeles, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

If you have a question or comment about the coronavirus pandemic, submit yours via the form below or here.

Get the latest news, information and videos about the novel coronavirus pandemic here