Timeline: Oakland's 7 police chiefs since 2009

Friday, February 21, 2020
Oakland's 7 police chiefs since 2009
Oakland's police department has had seven chiefs over the last decade.

OAKLAND, Calif. (KGO) -- The Oakland Police Department has often been a department in turmoil over the last decade.

In 2009, Former Police Chief Anthony Batts was hired and lasted three years. He left in 2011 following a controversy over police department reforms, plus a strained relationship with Former Mayor Jean Quan.

In 2011, Howard Jordan was the next police chief. He lasted two years until resigning in 2013 for health reasons.

RELATED: Oakland Police Chief Anne Kirkpatrick out after commission votes unanimously to fire her

That same year, Anthony Toribio was interim chief. But he lasted just two days before voluntarily stepping down.

From 2013 to 2016, Sean Whent was police chief. He had the interim job before getting the full-time gig. Whent lasted three years. But he left as several officers were involved in a sexual misconduct scandal.

RELATED: Oakland Police Chief resigns under pressure from city leaders

That started a turbulent week for the department, as it went through three chiefs in just nine days.

Ben Fairow served six of those days. He then resigned after Mayor Libby Schaaf said she received information that questioned his ability to assume the post. We later learned Fairow admitted to an extramarital affair.

Then, Chief Paul Figueroa was interim chief. He only lasted two days.

RELATED: Oakland Police Department's top cop steps down for 3rd time in 8 days

And most recently, Anne Kirkpatrick came on board as Oakland's first female police chief in 2017. She lasted three years before getting fired Thursday night.