TIMELINE: A look at the Salesforce Transit Center closure in San Francisco

EMBED </>More Videos

Following eight years of construction, the Salesforce Transit Center in San Francisco was shut down a little more than six weeks after opening when a cracked beam was discovered. (KGO-TV)

Following eight years of construction, the Salesforce Transit Center in San Francisco was shut down a little more than six weeks after opening when a cracked beam was discovered on Tuesday, Sept. 25. A second cracked beam was found the next day. Fremont Street was closed between Mission and Howard Streets where it crosses underneath the center. Bus service was re-routed to the Temporary Transbay Terminal.

Here's a timeline of events during this closure.

Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018
Today the TJPA Citizens Advisory Committee meets. The agenda includes an update on the Transit Center's closure as well as a discussion of the environmental impact of extending Caltrain into the lower level of the Center. Caltrain currently terminates at 4th and King Streets in San Francisco.

Monday, Dec. 10, 2018
According to newly released documents, in one week, preliminary findings of the tests on the steel samples should be released, along with a recommendation to fix the cracked beams. The goal is to review the recommendations in early January. A date to reopen the Transit Center has not been set yet.

A series of meetings takes place this week to discuss the closure of the Center.

Today the San Francisco Controller, Ben Rosenfield, met with the Executive Directors of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission and Transbay Joint Powers Authority to discuss the center's shutdown, among other items.

On Tuesday, the TJPA Citizens Advisory Committee will meet to discuss plans to eventually extend Caltrain into the Transit Center. They will also hear an update on the closure.

On Thursday, the TJPA Board of Directors is scheduled to meet and will receive a presentation on the closure from the MTC Peer Review Panel, which is tasked with approving the repair plan, as well as LPI, the New York lab which conducted the tests on the steel samples, and Thornton Tomasetti, the engineering firm which helped install the temporary shoring system currently in place on Fremont and First Streets.

Sunday, Dec. 9, 2018
No update.

Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018
No update.

Friday, Dec. 7, 2018
No update.

Thursday, Dec. 6, 2018
No update.

Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2018
No update.

Tuesday, Dec. 4, 2018
All "critical testing" is complete on the steel samples. Results will be analyzed to come up with a plan to repair and reopen the center, which has now been closed for 10 weeks.

Monday, Dec. 3, 2018
No update.

Sunday, Dec. 2, 2018
No update.

Saturday, Dec. 1, 2018
No update.

Friday, Nov. 30, 2018
No update.

Thursday, Nov. 29, 2018
No update.

Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2018
No update.

Tuesday, Nov. 27, 2018
An update posted today from The Transbay Joint Powers Authority includes many details that were already made public. Testing is still expected to be completed this month, which will be followed by a discussion of the results and the creation of a plan to repair and reopen the Transit Center. The Metropolitan Transportation Commission's Peer Review Panel will approve the plan.

Monday, Nov. 26, 2018
No update.

Sunday, Nov. 25, 2018
The transit center has been closed for two months.

Saturday, Nov. 24, 2018
No update.

Friday, Nov. 23, 2018
No update.

Thursday, Nov. 22, 2018
No update.

Wednesday, Nov. 21, 2018
No update.

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2018
No update.

Monday, Nov. 19, 2018
No update.

Sunday, Nov. 18, 2018
No update.

Saturday, Nov. 17, 2018
No update.

Friday, Nov. 16, 2018
No update.

Thursday, Nov. 15, 2018
No update.

Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2018
No update.

Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2018
No update.

Monday, Nov. 12, 2018
No update.

Sunday, Nov. 11, 2018
No update.

Saturday, Nov. 10, 2018
No update.

Thursday, Nov. 8, 2018
The Transit Center has now been closed for as long as it was open - 44 days. Today the Transbay Joint Powers Authority Board said they hope to get test results back this month, after sending samples of the steel beams to a specialized lab in New York. If engineers can figure out why the beams cracked, they can work on a repair plan. Ongoing inspections of the Transit Center have not revealed any other structural problems.

Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2018
Tomorrow, the Transbay Joint Powers Authority Board of Directors meets and will discuss updates on the Center's closure. New pictures and information, including a budget update, have been released in advance.

Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018
No update.

Monday, Nov. 5, 2018
No update.

Sunday, Nov. 4, 2018
No update.

Saturday, Nov. 3, 2018
No update.

Friday, Nov. 2, 2018
The Transbay Joint Powers Authority sends samples of the steel beams from both the Fremont Street and First Street areas to LPI, Inc. a metallurgical lab in New York.

Thursday, Nov. 1, 2018
No update.

Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2018
No update.

Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2018
No update.

Monday, Oct. 29, 2018
No update.

Sunday, Oct. 28, 2018
No update.

Saturday, Oct. 27, 2018
No update.

Friday, Oct. 26, 2018
No update.

Thursday, Oct. 25, 2018
The Transit Center has been closed for one month.

Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2018
The Bay Area Metropolitan Transportation Commission today said the Transit Center will be closed indefinitely. Samples of steel from the building will be analyzed in New York. An update may be provided by the middle of next month.

Tuesday, Oct. 23, 2018
The transit center has been closed for four weeks. Finding out what caused the beams to crack will take at least another three weeks. Today the San Francisco County Transportation Authority voted unanimously to suspend funding to the Transbay Joint Powers Authority, effectively ending its ability to oversee the next stage of the Transit Center, which will extend Caltrain from 4th & King Streets to the Center.

Wednesday, Oct. 17, 2018
The Transbay Joint Powers Authority is being sued by the general contractor in charge of building the Transit Center. Webcor Builders and Obayashi Corp. claim design and planning mistakes amount to a breach of contract and that they are owed $150 million. The TJPA says many of the lawsuit's claims involve delays that happened before the contractor's commitment to complete construction on time.

Tuesday, Oct. 16, 2018
No update.

Monday, Oct. 15, 2018
Cars are able to drive down Fremont Street for the first time in almost three weeks, since the street and the Transit Center were shut down on Tuesday, Sept. 25.
Sunday, Oct. 14, 2018
The TJPA announces that Fremont Street between Howard and Mission will reopen in time for the Monday morning commute. Shoring is complete.
Saturday, Oct. 13, 2018
No update.

Friday, Oct. 12, 2018
Shoring is now complete on Fremont Street. Temporary reinforcement work started today on the bus deck, which is level 3 of the Transit Center, and will continue through the weekend. Lane lines on Fremont have been redrawn, in anticipation of reopening the street to traffic no later than Wednesday, Oct. 17.

Thursday, Oct. 11, 2018
The Senior Construction Manager for the Transit Center described Wed., Oct. 17 as a "no later than" date to reopen Fremont Street, and they will open the street as soon as possible. It was originally scheduled to open on Friday, Oct. 12. It will be at least several weeks before the Transit Center reopens.

Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2018
The reopening of Fremont Street has been delayed until Wed., Oct. 17. It was originally supposed to reopen in time for the morning commute on Friday, Oct. 12. No more overnight work on First Street will happen this week. There will be one night of work next week which will close First Street from 9PM to 5AM. Both streets are the site of temporary shoring to take pressure off of the two cracked steel beams discovered inside the Transit Center.

New data shows that BART ridership remains high. The number of passengers was above average for the week of September 24, the first week of the Transit Center closure, which coincided with the Salesforce Dreamforce Convention. Ridership dropped the following week, the week of October 1, but remained above average most days. BART says it carries 420,000 passengers on a typical weekday.

Tuesday, Oct. 9, 2018
No update from TJPA on the transit center. Ridership on the San Francisco Bay Ferry remains high for the second week in a row. Ridership between San Francisco and Oakland/Alameda rose 7 percent the week of Sept. 24. That was the first week the transit center was closed and was also the same week of the Salesforce Dreamforce Convention, which drew thousands of people to San Francisco. The SF Bay Ferry told ABC7 News that ridership changed less than 1 percent from that week to the following week. However, it's worth noting that the week of Oct. 1 included additional ferry service for Fleet Week.

Monday, Oct 8. 2018
No update

Sunday, Oct. 7, 2018
No update

Saturday, Oct. 6, 2018
No update

Friday, Oct. 5, 2018
First Street is going to be shut down so that crews can install the same temporary shoring system that is being put in on Fremont Street. No cracked beams have been found in the Transit Center directly above First Street, but since this section was designed like Fremont Street the decision was made to reinforce both sections. Preparations begin Friday night. First Street will be closed for one block between Howard Street and Mission Street between 9pm and 5am, to avoid disrupting the commute. Fremont Street, which is also closed between Howard and Mission, is scheduled to reopen in time for the morning commute on Friday, Oct. 12.

Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018
As scheduled, installation of temporary shoring system begins to relieve stress on cracked beams. Fremont Street still expected to reopen on Oct. 12.

Tuesday, Oct. 2, 2018
There is no scheduled date to reopen the Transit Center. The Transbay Joint Powers Authority still expects to reopen Fremont Street on Friday, Oct. 12. That will happen after the current jacks are replaced by a temporary shoring system to relieve the stress on the cracked beams.



Tests will be performed on a sample of the steel to help determine what caused the cracks. These tests could take two weeks. The cause will dictate the fix and when the Transit Center will reopen.

Monday, Oct. 1, 2018

Officials announce the transit center and Fremont Street are not expected to reopen until at least Friday, Oct. 12.

Sunday, Sept. 30, 2018

Crews begin to stabilize the transit center with jacks, installed between the Center and Fremont Street.

Saturday, Sept. 29, 2018

Materials arrive for temporary supports.

Friday, Sept. 28, 2018

Workers continue to prepare center for shoring system. Fremont Street expected to be closed through next week.

Thursday, Sept. 27, 2018

Workers remove ceiling panels, utilities, and light fixtures to clear way for temporary supports.

Wednesday, Sept. 26, 2018

A second cracked beam is announced and a photo of the 2.5 foot long crack in the first beam is released. The Transbay Joint Powers Authority says the beams were installed and were last inspected in Jan. 2016, and note that there was no crack in June 2016 when fire proofing material was installed. They add that the cracks could have happened at any time after that.

The transit center was expected to stay closed through the end of the next week.

Tuesday, Sept. 25, 2018

Around 10 a.m., while workers were installing ceiling panels, a crack was discovered in a load-bearing steel beam above the bus deck beneath the rooftop park. The beam is on the eastern side of the third level of the transit center, near Fremont Street.

Around 4:30 p.m., the entire center was closed and evacuated. Fremont Street was closed for one block between Mission Street and Howard Street. Bus service was relocated to the Temporary Transbay Terminal, one block away, at Main and Folsom Streets. SFMTA ambassadors helped guide commuters.

August 10 - 12, 2018

Opening weekend for the Salesforce Transit Center, located at 425 Mission Street, capped off more than eight years of construction that cost $2.2 billion.The 1 million square foot center is six stories tall. Two stories are underground. Four stories are above ground, topped with a 5.4-acre rooftop park.

Bus service officially began on Sunday, August 12 for AC Transit, Amtrak, Greyhound, and Westcat Lynx on the Center's third floor. Muni buses started using the Center's ground floor in June.

Get the latest stories and videos about the Salesforce Transit Center here.

RELATED STORIES & VIDEOS:
Related Topics:
constructionSalesforce Transit Centerbus terminalbus stationmunimass transitpublic transportationroad closureengineeringtraffic delaytrafficac transitamtrakgreyhoundSan Francisco
(Copyright ©2018 KGO-TV. All Rights Reserved.)